Christmas photo

I tried for two weeks to set up the perfect Christmas photo.  I positioned the nativity scene in front of the candle Christmas bridge, tried a bokeh shot with the kids in front of the tree (this didn’t work as Jessica can’t keep still long enough for the long shutter speed) and finally tried a macro shot of baubles.  Nothing came out half way decent so wasn’t sure what else to try until I saw a technique that had some cool effects.  Basically you set up the camera on a tripod, turn the dial to ‘S’ and have a 5 to 10 second shutter speed.  While the lens is open you then zoom in or zoom out creating lights trails from the tree lights.

This photo isn’t the best shot I have taken but it just seemed to really sum up my Christmas. It’s bright, its loud, its happy and just a little chaotic.

Christmas

